My Software Development Journey; My search keywords were Valid!

My Software Development Journey; My search keywords were Valid!

All of what you're about to read started back in 2017, when a new high school graduate knew he loved anything software related but clueless as to what directions to take, what niche to follow and focus in. I'd say its been a roller coaster, a real one so to speak.

If you're a newbie reading this, this writeup is not to confuse you in any way, neither to stray you away from purpose, rather to expose you to what it means to do something worth your time, doing what you love with your time.

Honestly, my experiences in the past few months have been the most valued learning experiences for me. It is one thing to love technology, it is another to find that niche you would like to explore especially in a fully technology-driven world we are in, knowing that there are numerous areas as of now you might want to dive into.

I spent close to 3 years trying to figure mine out.

1catgif.gif

I used to be a hardware developer, embedded systems programmer, used to automate systems using microcontrollers and this was consequently because I study Electronic and Electrical Engineering in the University. My mindset changed when I took a Python Programming Course focusing in Object-Oriented Programming (OOP) and I so much loved it. While I took this course, I made research as to what field I'd like to use the language in, Machine Learning jumped out at me. Well, funny thing is there are just so many other things you can do as a python programmer, ML only happened to stand out as at the time.

I started off and took courses in Machine Learning, started from the beginning; The linear regression model all down to even more complex algorithms. I remember taking a full course and at the end, I asked myself..

What next bro?

That felt like some months of directionless movement, while I had colleagues who already knew what they wanted.

Before all of these events, I already took a course on Front-End Web development using HTML, CSS and bootstrap as a new high school graduate, where I enjoyed what I did until I gained admission to study Electronic and Electrical Engineering in the University, I left Web dev and had to focus on my studies. Trust me, you'd want to choose one, you can't cook them both in the same pot.

Stay with me, I'm getting there. The Ongoing National School Strike in Nigeria birthed in me something I can't explain. After being self taught on use of JavaScript, JS libraries, JS frameworks (React, NodeJS), some revisions in HTML and CSS, In less than two weeks I built a fully functional Front-End web application for a Journal, to be launched soon. Trust me, the drive was fire!!!

Coding feels more like a part of me and not like a duty. I enhance my design skills everyday by checking out websites that use the latest web frameworks and technology, try to reproduce mine in a completely different way, using the principles of beauty and aesthetics. Some of my many designs shown below;

image.png image.png

Honestly, I do not regret the past, I think everyone should get the chance to explore as much as possible, until they find that one deserving niche.

Nothing beats doing what you love with your time, anything asides this is literally resentment, discouragement will follow.

Find that field, follow it unapologetically

My focus right now is looking to get internship roles in Front-End Development and related fields, learn from experienced professionals, enhance my team playing spirit. I'm an enthusiastic learner, dedicated and committed to improving customer or user experience through my software development skills.

Hello Newbie,

My search keywords were valid, I searched and I found it. You can find yours too!!